St. John the Baptist is an historic church in a warm and scenic community of lakes and villages. 

Country road in Wakefield


The town of Wakefield is made up of the seven villages of Sanbornville, Woodman, Union, Wakefield Corner, North Wakefield, South Wakefield, and East Wakefield. St. John’s is located in the largest village, Sanbornville. Wakefield borders Maine in the popular lakes region of New Hampshire, and its boundaries enclose or border seven glacier carved lakes. The villages are small and pleasant rural communities, nestled in forested valleys in the foothills of the White Mountains.

The picturesque village of Wakefield Corner and the Episcopal Church of St. John the Baptist are on the National Register of Historic Places. Wakefield was first settled in the mid-eighteenth century, and was incorporated in 1774, two years before the beginning of the American Revolution. The town has a permanent population of approximately 4,500 spread throughout its seven villages. Wakefield's many lakes attract a large number of seasonal residents, swelling the seasonal population to more than 9,000.

Wakefield is adjacent to Rt. 16, the primary north-south artery in eastern New Hampshire, and is centrally located about one hour's drive from Portland, Kennebunkport, and Kittery, Maine, as well as Portsmouth, Concord, and North Conway, New Hampshire. Boston is a two hour drive to the South.

Wakefield is a very ecumenical community, with the following activities being shared by the major churches in the town:

  • Wakefield Food Pantry
  • Wednesdays on the Hill
  • Celebrations and Vigils